Amy vs Asta?

Binarical

[08] Mercenary
For one reason or another, I seem to have an absolutely horrible time when fighting good Astaroth players. I can never seem to get spacing just right, and they just toss me around all over the place. Drives me crazy.

Advice?

i've always found with astaroth and other slower characters that you have to constantly keep up the aggressive game. amy's quick and has a lot of quick pokes that will stop most of astaroth's moves, save for his few quick moves (don't know the notation offhand as i don't play as him, but i can see the animations coming a lot better now) which you can train yourself to gi. i tend to play wayyy more aggressively with slower characters because if they get "control" of the match, its really easy for them to take away half of your health in just a few moves. keep the control and you should be okay.

I'm no expert on the subject, but I want to point out that that Astra's tiger kneel (6K), which is one of his fastest and best interrupt move has built in TC, meaning it will beat your 6B every time. So don't go too happy with the poking game. That, and buffer throw breaks a lot, as good chuck of Astra's offense come from those JF throws.

Off the top of my head.

Pressure stuff
I like to use B+K a lot at the beginning in this matchup since the moves most Astaroth players like to abuse are mids(especially 6K and 66K). Do be aware that he does have an i12 high(6A). 66[K] is -3 on block, and almost every Asta loves to do 66K right after, so don't default to 6B even though they're at disadvantage, bullrush is still going right under it. 6K is punishable by your 6B, stab him in the face EVERYTIME you block it and you should see it a lot less.

Spacing:
If they like to start the match with A and 4A, your 6B+K tech crouches fast and has deceptively long range, I don't remember if it will reach from starting position so try it out.