Voldo Oki

vane505

[09] Warrior
How do you play when you have knocked down your opponent? I think it would be good to have a thread dedicated to this. Unfortunately I can't really contribute with much, because I'm quite new to Voldo.

What I use:

On 236A+B, K - Follow-up with BS B+K, wish for CH.
Knockdown when in BS: BB, 236B, WR B, A+G_B+G
Mainly: 236A+B Mixup, 66K, 236 A+G_B+G

Your biggest ally in normal stance is :2::A::+::B::2::3::6:(Calisto Rush):B: after knockdown. It does a ton of damage, and catches most opponents who try and roll around. From blind stance, :B::B:, :2::K:, and WR:B: are probably your best bets, though I find myself less effective in this stance for oki games.

I prefer 2A+B~CR K on wakeup over 2A+B~CR B. They're both not really safe on block, but if CR K is blocked you will take far less damage than you would if your CR B got blocked. Also, CR B leaves you at disadvantage on hit.

2A+B~CR K has some very good wakeups on hit or on block. If you roll towards your opponent, oftentimes you will go through attacks like BB which should hit you. I like to roll forwards and do BS G+A_G+B. If they start ducking that, you can do BS WR B into combos, or BS 4KA for absurd ringout or soul gauge damage. BS 4KA also has the same wakes as CR K. You can also get up with BS 6ABB if you think you will get a counterhit. BS 22_88B might also work, but it just feels far too slow to me.

If you're in BS and not on the ground, and you're looking for wakeups, your options are a lot more limited. BS 2K if you think they'll roll, BCR G+A_G+B if you think they'll tech backwards, BS 22_88K[K] if you think you can catch them with it right as they're standing. Sometimes a BS throw if you think they're going to get up swinging.