Backdashing

BlackMambaMoan

[09] Warrior
How do you Back Dash well in this game? I never really learned how to Back Dash in SC4. How do you do the different types like Korean Back Dash, Back Dash Cancel, etc? Also, do characters like Sophie, Liz, and Voldo have good dashes?

how do you back dash well in this game? I never really learned how to back dash in sc4. How do you do the different types like korean back dash, back dash cancel, etc? Also, do characters like sophie, liz, and voldo have good dashes?

Erm I'm not really experienced in this area but here are a couple things I noticed:

1. It is character dependent (i.e. Algol backdash vs. Cervantes backdash)

2. Backdashing works well against some attacks/characters moreso than others (backdashing against Sieg can be dangerous, for example). Backdash counter hit sucks.

3. You have to weigh the risk/reward like with everything else (how certain are you that backdash will work? How much will you net off a whiff punish? How much will they net off a backdash counter hit?)

I think Aris made good use of backdash to get whiff punishes against you (which earned him like 60ish damage each time). But remember he was Cass (who has excellent backdash and great whiff punishing) and you were Sophie/Voldo (who have short range on most attacks). So it really depends on the circumstances and the character matchup. I feel that backdashing in general is pretty weak for most characters in this game though. There are a couple exceptions, namely Hilde, Cass, and Algol.

I posted this because I was bored. I'm not sure I really know what I'm talking about.

With Cass, I 4~5~G to backdash cancel. It leaves me slightly vulnerable, but gives me alot of space.
Tue backdash cancelling is more akin to 44~1G. Since you can cancel most other motions into another motion, finding the ones that you can guard out of quicker (i.e., step-G is pretty fast), is a good idea.

Hope that helped.

-Idle