8wayrun.com site suggestions

SymetriX

[08] Mercenary
First of all, major kudos to the team for creating an amazing site in such a short time frame. I know there have been shenanigans within the community lately, but its nice to see someone step up and give this game the site it deserves.

With that said, I think it's important to focus on improvements so that the site doesn't end up like some other sites which shall go unnamed. ;-)

I'm a web developer/consultant myself, so I thought I would get the ball rolling with some suggestions for search engine placement. Search engines like google are going to be the easiest way to allow new people find the site, and I assume that increasing visitors would be any site's goal :-)

Currently a search for "Soul Calibur 4" turns up the wikipedia article, the official site, and a bunch of random videos and articles.

You're right to feel overwhelmed about turning up on this search. Google lists results by traffic and relevance. 8wayrun has plenty of the latter but little of the former.

Before you dismiss it, though, keep in mind that the wikipedia article at the top of that search is editable. Of course, you can't just insert your own links at random. You could, however, add a citation to an entry provided that 8wayrun contains an article containing unique information about the game, such as an exploit, for example.

The biggest thing to focus on for search engines, however, are the targeted-searches.

"Soul Calibur forum", for instance, returns links to CaliburForum first, and then to SoulCaliburUniverse, but then degrades into a list of popular but less relevant sites. There is definitely room for a site like 8wayrun on a result set like this!