So what was your first fighting game?

DC97

[10] Knight
What was the first fighting game you guys ever played? Whether it be Street Fighter or DBZ Budokai, no one is here to judge.

If i remember correctly my first fighting game was Street Fighter 2 which to this day, i am absolutely horrible at.

Street Fighter 2.

I played Street Fighter 2 first, but unlike my brothers, I did not take to it when I first played it. Soul Calibur on Dreamcast was the first fighting game that really got me into the genre. After playing Soul Calibur, I went back to realize that I love Street Fighter 2, but I am not very good at it.

The first fighting game i couldn't put down was Tekken 3. I pwned at that game.

first one would be street fighter 2. the first one that i actually spent a little time trying to learn combos and stuff on was... killer instinct! c-c-c-c-combo breaker, oh yea! :D

Street Fighter 2. I forget whether Killer Instinct or Tekken 2 was first, but I was pretty hardcore about learning everything there was to know about both games.

The only thing that stopped me from becoming great in Fighting games till now was not knowing how to push 236 and other directions for combo's.

I get the feeling this thread will be rampant with SF2 answers :) It's the same for me. However, first game I really tried to understand was Alpha 2. First game to actually know what the hell I was talking about though was SC2.

To this day I'm not very good at any of them, SC4 included :P

Don't worry, i didn't understand fighting games until SC2 either.

The first fighting game I played seriously was either CVSNK2 or SC2, although I was absolutely abysmal at both games.

Edit: Actually, I think it actually as SF2. I just remembered having to use that horrible little genesis controller, and being forced to stick to either punches or kicks.

Controllers never really felt good when playing a fighting game until the Playstation came out.