Infinite Justice: Patroklos SCV Guide

Data-Mining and You

One of the concepts I've stumbled upon playing in the glamorous world of online tournaments is data-mining. Bibulus once mentioned this in commentary at Winter Brawl, comparing one's health bar in the early stages of a set to a resource that can be spent to learn more about the opponent.

In this case, we'll be talking about a series of tools to use in open play: Throws, 1K, and 1B. (Shouts out to Fuzion for espousing the virtues of 1B a month ago.)

Throws

In tournament play, people block. Seriously. People don't want to lose and so they block. The first thing you should do- before anything else- is run in and throw. Total noob move, but you have to do it until you know that the other guy is going to smack you for running in on him.

The thing about Pat's throws that make them different from others is that given a neutral state (no ukemi on B throw- this happens more often than you think!), all of them leave the opponent right next to his feet. Not two character spaces away, not across the arena- they are right at his feet.

Let's say, for example, you run up and throw your opponent. He gets back up guarding, and you throw him again. You've just done 80-100 damage in a matter of seconds- that is nothing to scoff at. (I have done A+Gx3 at EVO, I do believe the crowd was quite pleased with this.)

The resulting okizeme situation from landing throws gives you a good start to your offense. Of course, all this goes away when your opponent starts breaking them.

Run-up throw isn't working. Your opponent is skilled at breaking throws- so this leaves you with run-up 1K.

1K does 20 damage and leaves you at +2. The thing that is special about 1K is not just kicking the other guy in the shins- with advantage on your side, you get to see what your opponent does next.