SCV comparisons for street fighter player?

Aurumvorax

[08] Mercenary
Hi all, I'm brand new to the SoulCalibur series, and pretty new to fighting games in general. However, I have played enough of SF4 to basically know how the game works. Would anyone like to comment on how SoulCalibur differs or is similar to SF4? In particular, what mistakes do SF players make in SoulCalibur, and what aspects of the two games make them play differently once you're decent in both?

Here are some of my shallow observations, being a total SCV noob. Similarities:

1. Obviously both are 1 on 1 fighters with attacks, a health system, etc.
  2. The mechanics of both games involve discrete moves that have startup frames, active frames, recovery frames, and hitboxes.
  3. Both involve mind games and rock-paper-scissors gameplay, in similar ways (e.g. low attacks beat midlevel blocking, etc.).
  4. Differences in characters are often along the same lines---characters differ in their zoning potential, damage, safety, frame-trapping, mobility, etc.
  5. They both have meters which can be used to make moves more powerful, or for defensive purposes.
  6. There are a lot of specific similarities, like working your opponent into the corner, hit-confirming, counterhit damage bonus, combo scaling, etc.

And some differences SCV has from SF4:

1. It's is 3D, duh
  2. Hand dexterity is deemphasized---there's a built-in combo buffer/input window, presumably so players won't have to spend hours practicing plinking and double-tapping like I did in SF.
  3. The move list is much longer. There seem to be a lot more specific animations in SCV. Characters in SF have fewer unique moves, and many of their moves are slight variants on each other (e.g. mp shoryuken vs hp shoryuken).
  4. The attacks are significantly slower. In SF there are many moves with 3 frames of startup (or impact as they call it in SC?), but in SCV a move that starts in 10 or 12 frames is considered fast.