Soulcalibur: Balanced or Not?

Cahin

[08] Mercenary
I posted this in another forum but thought it was in the wrong forum so I'm re-posting it here. Feel free to comment :D

I'm new to the forums but I think that it's best to introduce yourself in new places. I'm DW1. No, that's not some secret code made by the CIA or ham demons, and I have a question for you as a SC player: How balanced is Soulcalibur?

In all my years of playing fighting games, I would like to say that I have a lot of experience in this field. Something that bothers me a lot though is when you play a game and there's a list of really annoying, cheap, overpowered characters that just seem to kill everyone. This problem is pretty prevalent in the recent game MvC3 (Not to be confused with Ultimate MvC3, which looks friggin awesome.) In MvC3, tournament play was dominated by a list of metagame characters. Basically if you didn't play them you got massacred, and while MvC3 was a fun game, the amount of imbalance in the roster stifled creativity. I would've loved to have played characters like Arthur, or even C.Viper because they're really fun characters. However, if you were to main them in a tourney or even just play them against a friend who's decent with one of the meta characters, your butt is grass and they're the lawnmower.