The Soul Calibur history of combo systems, can anyone help explain to a beginner?

tmd02

[05] Battler
Hey guys what's up? I'm tmd02 and Im relatively new to the Soul Calibur scene, I've been a "casual" fan of sorts for some time, playing SCII, SCIV and just recently SCV. I do play other fighters like Virtua Fighter, but I play Tekken like there's no tomorrow, I played that game far too long lol. To give you a bit of background as to what type of player I am of 3D fighters, I make combo videos on a regular basis with Tekken and Virtua Fighter on Yr, and now at some point I want to play SC.

Now that i've introduced myself, I wanted to ask anyone about how and what the differences are between combo systems of each of the SCs, from the first Soul Blade to SC5. Because I've searched for as many clips as I can on YT, and apart from SC5 I can't find much at all.

First off, I know in SC2 you can only get one hit after a launch before air control kicks in, but the practice mode doesn th ave much range to escape. And In SC3 and beyond you can use walls to extend combos as if they are a standing opponent again? And I see a few hits in the air before air control?

What I'm trying to ask for is if anyone can help me and discuss what changes and properties of each SC combo system, I will greatly appreciate it! If you want me to give examples of things i'm confused about just ask

Thank you for reading, tmd02

The combo system has been mostly the same, but over the years they've made more moves that disable air control (moving in the air). You can also ukemi out of certain combos just like in Tekken, but there are tech traps as well that will punish them.

One of the bigger differences is that in SCV, Namco took out shakeable stuns. Anything that will connect during a stun is a true combo in this game.

Let me know if you have any other questions! Welcome to the forum

Thank you for the response Party Wolf!