Hey ! :) Foolish here! (Wall of text here!)

FoolishB

[09] Warrior
Hello everyone, my name is FoolishB you can call me Brandon, I'm picking up a PS3 this weekend and Soul calibur 5 I've been watching videos for the past 2 weeks and I am very interested in this game and I want to start learning it, It's going to be my first fighter so I need to know the basics and everything, I'm going to be using a regular PS3 controller because that is what I'm most comfortable with, I already did research and learned that stick is preference so I will use the pad, If anyone could provide links to everything I need to know it would be greatly appreciated I hope to be competitive some day and be a challenge for all of you.

So yeah links to everything a complete newbie to SC5 needs to know will be nice, I'm interested in learning Tira and Xiba but I'm sure I will find other which I will find enjoyable, to my understanding no character is low tier if you know how to play him, this game seems pretty balanced in my perspective.

That is all, cheers! :)

-Brandon

Nice to meet you Brandon! And it's good to hear you're looking to sink your teeth into this game. It is rich and meaty, with just a hint of taragon. Some things (resources) that will help speed you on your way to mastery:

To read a lot of the advice on this board and make sense of it it would be good to check out this thread first:
http://8wayrun.com/threads/soulcalibur-v-basic-notations-terminology.12553/

For everything else after that check out the rest of the soul calibur tactics board. A lot of seasoned folks like to patrol the board regularily and they should be able to help you with your general questions.
http://8wayrun.com/forums/soulcalibur-tactics.4/

For character specifics, check out the soul arenas. Most of them are fairly busy.
http://8wayrun.com/categories/soulcalibur-v-soul-arenas.86/