Language Settings

AM64

[09] Warrior
Obviously, SC4 has two language settings: Japanese and English. Which setting do you use and why? I watch subbed anime, so I certainly have an appreciation for the original Japanese, but personally, I like the English voices better. Call me crazy, but understanding what a character is saying is a big plus for me.

On a similar note, is there a tournament standard for language settings, and if not, should there be one?

I started playing SC2 in Japanese out of fondness for the only language setting in SC1. I didn't just like it in SC1, or form an attachment to it because I already liked the game otherwise. I was product-sellingly impressed with the quality of the voice acting, and as with most anime and foreign movies, I continue to see superior quality in the performances overseen by the full creative body of the project.

As for formalizing a language setting for tournaments: I always find it an amusing surprise when someone's game is still set to English. Audio cues do affect our ability to read moves, so if we were an entirely serious competetive community, we'd standardize a language. The rule would probably be to use whichever language was most natural for the territory in which you were playing, or failing the presence of your native language (i.e. French), then you'd logically go to the original language.

We're the batshit bullshit bansters, though. Logical propriety is the least of our worries, so institution of such a rule could never be accomplished.

japanese because they actually say real sentences and crap in sc which gets really annoying when you hear it over and over again.

i actually interchange the two almost biweekly, i'd say. they both get annoying if you listen to them for too long. right now mine is set on english but i'm about to switch over to japanese again in a few days. it adds a little bit of spice to the game for me, i guess.