Guest Speech: Tournament Survival - Pocket Edition

With all apologies to my erstwhile friend and fellow writer Hates, and you the readers, this piece was a little late for a couple of very important reasons; Skyrim, and of course, just plain writers block. Both of these things have been sorted now, so enjoy the article.

Before I go spouting off like I know things, a brief introduction. I've been participating in tournaments for fighting games since 1995. I've seen a ton of good tournaments and bad ones, and after 16 years of tournament experience, let me say this:

A Major Tournament is literally the most fun you can have with a fighting game, period.

Have you ever been hanging out with a group of friends, playing Soul Calibur (or any fighting game), having a few drinks, ordering out food, cracking jokes and generally having a good time and thought "Man, why don't more people do this?" That is what a major tournament is, except on a bigger scale. Along with that bigger scale comes a host of little nuances and annoyances that should be understood for the maximum enjoyment of your tournament experience. So, below is a condensed version of that information.

02Qow.jpg
See if you can find me in this crowd.

IdleMind's Tournament Survival Guide: Pocket Edition
  • A Place To Lay Your Head (Housing)
  • Getting There (Travel)
  • Enjoying Yourself (Entertainment)
  • A Plea for Civility (Hygiene)
A Place to Lay Your Head

The most important logistical concern quite simply comes down to "Where do I sleep?" Well, as it turns out, you have a few options.