Mi-na Matchup Discussion

TidalLeaf

[09] Warrior
So I'm new to Mina, currently trying her out, and I like her alot. She's fun, but doesn't seem like a particularly good char (which I'm fine with heh).

Anyways, I'm having alot of trouble against Hilde. She too, is a spacer, but seems to do it better then Mina does. Any tips? (I try and do 33AA at range to counter C3B, and it works sometimes)

Mina VS Hilde

You should try to step Hilde's C3 B, IMHO. Also, go for mixups or the appropriate SG damagers when Hilde's at disadvantage, if possible. She has a bit of an edge at close range, though all of her fast moves are high and/or linear. Also, remember that many of Mi-na's spacing moves leave her at slight disadvantage, which means you should focus on your defensive options against Hilde (i.e. GI, sidestep, 4B+K, and guarding). I wish I could give more/better advice, but I don't play good Hildegards enough. I also believe ShenYu has better experience with this, if I'm not mistaken.

Mina VS Hilde

4B+K I find works well. I usually get hit with C3B when I do a move, and my opponent moves an inch and sidesteps it (as either 1. I can't find good range, semi-fast horizontals that cover step to both sides or 2. She doesn't have any) then I get C3B'ed :( Damn C3A giving adv on block lol. I usually try to 22_88A up close, works okay.

Mina VS Hilde

Try to keep in mind how much Hilde's been charging her moves. 22_88A is great, but you have to be in mid-close range to hit with it, and Mi-na prefers mid-long range. If you're stuck up close, you should use throws and some quicker mids, since Hilde's likely still charging (And prolly expecting a throw, which she can counter with FC charge moves). Another issue is that she can pull charges out of her ass while stepping, which weakens Mi-na's FC 1B (Try to use that move a lot, though, especially after blocking C3 B). I'm just operating on theory for the most part, though.

Mina VS Hilde