Prep Shenanigans!! ^_^

TheOnlyOne

[08] Mercenary
Ok, I think I should break the ice and start a thread about some Raph Strategies. This case, His prep stances. First let me start off by saying I don't think of myself as the best Raph or know everything there is to know about him. I'm a student of the game like everyone else, so I could be wrong about a few things. But thats what this site is for!! =D

Ok, lets start with what moves gets him into prep. Hold the last button down to go into prep:

4B
44AB
66B
3B
6BB

after after any of these moves you have the following options:

*BB again for quick pokes to keep them blocking, hold down B if you want to stay in prep.....

*A for a short quick mid hit if your up close and stuns on counter hit......

*2 for SE then B for a mid poke in case they try to GI the BB's or duck. hold down B if you want to stay in prep.....

*2 for SE then A if you think they're gonna sidestep after the SE. Has good advantage on block...........

*VE then throw, and if they duck the throw do VE and A that hits mid and hits twice which in some cases brings them closer to you for a throw attempt. VE and B, then jfB in case they try to slash you for 2 quick counter hits...........

*K, jfK for low hits. This you should rarely use and only use if you got your opponent freezing up cause of the other options.........

*or you can do nothing after the prep and just throw them or w/e.........

The prep game is meant not to lock your opponent down, but rather to have the opponent lock himself down because of the all the options you can do from it. It's not meant to be a frame trap, but more of a mind fuck. Granted it's no where near as free offline as it is online, but it's still has to be accounted for.

6 is forward, you press 2 for SE :P

Prep B is 1 frame slower than Prep A and significantly safer. Prep A is good if youre fighting a hasty opponent who you know youll get a CH on, but be careful with it.